Giving thanks every day

Ah, these mornings, when even a cup of coffee hasn’t helped pry my eyes open fully yet.  When my seasonal allergies have kept me up for many nights now, and the kids have started off the morning arguing.  These mornings–when I have yet to find my way to the shower or know what my direction for such a day is yet.

How do I glorify you today, Lord?  Please open my eyes to see the gift you have brought me in today . . .

And so I begin my list of 1000 gifts.  It’s all very new to me, but I’ve been reading Ann Voskamp’s list for 6 months running.  Don’t misunderstand me; I know I have gifts in my daily life.  I often whisper a thanks when my eyes are truly open. 

But sometimes it takes a little more looking to actually see them.  Being intentional even when the morning looks like this.  He leaves us gifts every day; seeing them is part of the framing of our outlook.

1.  A husband who works hard for our family

2.  A sunny morning to wake up to

3.  Safe, comfortable community

4.  Three beautiful daughters

5.  One rambunctious son

6.  Baby eggs from our new chickens

7.  Renewing a friendship I thought might be gone

8.  Hearing and loving God’s word from a gifted pastor

9.  Hot coffee

10.  Fresh vegetables to put up from the garden

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. bendedspoon
    Sep 13, 2010 @ 22:29:34

    i am sharing GOD with you — in a pumpkin pie!
    http://bendedspoon.wordpress.com/2010/09/11/to-believe-is-to-see/
    🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

